Browsing through art work online, I came across photography Liu Bolin (Japanese). A lot of his works revolve around a theme of blending in or disappearing into the objects that surround us. This photography really appeals to me and I think that it is very impressive. For starters, I feel that the angle that this photograph was captured at really makes it interesting. There is an entirely new perspective through the idea that we not only visibly see the figure blending into the city, but we see the city, the tall buildings, and the potential size of the city. I also think it is interesting that there are other individuals in the background who are minding their own business and doing whatever it is that they are doing. This piece is very conceptual, and it sends a very inspirational message (this piece really speaks to me). Even in one of the biggest cities (assuming that this is New York), an individual can get lost in the swarm of people. People can get lost in their city, in humanity, in the things that they do - addictions, bad habits, etc. We cannot let ourselves get lost and lose our voices. We cannot let ourselves blend into society, but we rather have to stand out and voice our opinions. We need to stand our and contribute positively to this world before it is too late. We all have one life to live, and we all have one shot at doing so. Asides the conceptual meaning that I take away from this piece, I think that the overall po

Image derived from: Bolin, Liu. Hiding in New York No. 4 - Ground Zero. 2011. Photograph. Eli Klein Gallery, New York, New York. Web. 20 Nov 2013. 



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All