Although many people view Pollock's work as simplistic, I think it is very intricate and inspiring. Viewing the elements and principles of the piece, although the technique seems to be a bit random (throwing paint - you can't control where it lands). Although that is the case, Pollock really worked to control his color usage to create a sense of unity. There is also a color scheme (black, white, and grey), which also adds on to the sense of unity. I really admire the idea that there is a 3D-like texture that is created through the layering of the paint splatters. I also really admire the idea that Pollock created his work with emotion. In other words, the canvases convey what he was feeling at the moment he was actually creating the piece, and although it is very abstract, it is a great conceptual idea. I also really admire that there is balance created through the paint splatters, because with the technique, that seems to be a hard aspect to achieve. 

Image derived from: Pollock, Jackson. Autumn Rhythym (Number 30). 1950. Painting. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, New York. Web. 29 Sep 2013. <http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/57.92>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All