The movement presented in this piece through the organic shapes is very inspiring to me. The piece itself is very abstract and takes on its own form. There is a feeling of unity as well as asymmetrical balance that is created through the idea of repetition and repeating similar shapes and repeating the use of similar colors. The use of warm colors conveys energy. I interpret this piece almost as visually being able to see an abyss of energy forming when the mind begins to work and think and create. The abstract and organic forms remind me of waves of the brain that are transmitted back and forth between different parts of the body. When an individual comes inspired and motivated, the mind begins to work and movement of the waves begins to occur, transmitting signals, etc. The hues add on to the idea of energy, and the abstract forms convey movement. It is like visually seeing the inside of the right brain and how it works when a person becomes inspired - which I think is relevant to the title. "Display Linkage" could be or is referring to a visual display of the linkage between inspiration and the creative mind. I really admire this piece and I appreciate it for the concept as well as the contemporary feel and conveyace 

Image derived from: Winters, Terry. Display Linkage. 2005. Oil on linen.. ArtNet, Los Angeles, California. Web. 28 Oct 2013. <http://www.artnet.com/artwork/426150541/706/terry-winters-display-linkage.html>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All