Having studied Yeonju Sung's work a bit in high school and using her as inspiration, I admire her sculptural dresses not only for the uniqueness to them, but for the structure and medium choice. I love that she chooses to work with and use food to create these objects, because eventually the sculpture's die and decay away/rot (food does not last forever). In her artist statement, one of the most interesting things that she states is when she writes "The food medium I have chosen for clothes are not protective enough for our body, or durable. Also, it is unmanageable to the passing of time and is easily affected by surroundings. An original function of clothes as a protector for skin is totally destroyed since my clothes are made with food." (Sung) This concept reminds me of the idea that as humans, we can sometimes be easily influenced by our surroundings, and at times, we become so influenced, we morph and change to fit the mold of our surroundings that are influencing us. The fact that the clothes are not protective enough for the body is also significant, because it implies how vulnerable we are as humans, and how easily influenced we can be. I also really admire her pieces for the sculptural intricacy. The dresses are very detailed and almost look very flashy in a sense - if they were real, wearable, dresses, they look as if they would/could possibly be of a more expensive brand, which could also imply that humanity is easily influenced by materialism, and it changes us as individual beings and changes our perspectives.


Image derived from:Sung, Yeonju. Eggplant Dress. N.d. Sculpture. Tree LandWeb. 16 Sep 2013. <http://trendland.com/wearable-foods-by-sung-yeonju/>.

Quote/information derived from: Sung, Yeonju. "Artist Statement." Yeonju Sung. n. page. Web. 18 Sep. 2013. <http://yeonju.me/index.php?/sung-yeon-ju/about-this-site/>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All