I really like this piece because it is very contemporary, yet a lot of the newer contemporary is non-geometric-  so this is a great change from seeing that so much. This work is intriguing to me because it strays away from the contemporary abstraction that is commonly seen and it presents a structural vision in that same contemporary way. Although the piece itself is abstract (since there is no subject and it is all line work), the piece is very structured which challenges the tradition as of late. I like the piece because I think the color choices were very well thought out and the choices of color are interesting. The shapes all connect/are next to each other, which gives off a feeling of unity. There is also a high contrast between the sharp edges of the shapes and how the colors work against each other to create that geometric feel. To me, this piece conveys the idea of creating and maintaining structure in all different aspects of life in order to create unity within your life as a whole (the different shapes represent the different aspects of life, and the lines within those shapes are the implications within each aspect of life. This piece is very inspiring to me because it works against the traditions of new

Image derived from: Stella, Frank. Harran II. 1982. Polymer and fluorescent polymer paint on canvas. Guggenheim, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, New York. Web. 17 Oct 2013. <http://www.guggenheim.org/new-york/collections/collection-online/artwork/4003>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All