I really admire Lichtenstein for not only his pop art style, but for the idea that his work conveys emotions in a cartoon-type way that everyone can relate to. I also admire his work for it's precision. The work itself it hand-made (not computer generated), so it amazes me how computer-like his work is (even in person, I've seen his piece entitled Crying Girl at the Milwaukee Art Museum, and the precision he uses in the dots he use for the skin of the characters to give his pieces a "comical feel" is fascinating... almost as if there is a mathematical skill behind the technique. This piece I admire a lot, because it conveys an emotion that we all deal with in daily life. We are all told things that we do not want to hear, and we simply just have to take those things in, process them, and learn/decide on the right way to respond/deal with that. I feel that this is what that piece is conveying (my own interpretation), and I think that the expression of the character also adds on to that. This piece almost relates to our Circle, Square, Triangle project in the sense of paying close attention to line weights, color usage, precision, etc. Lichtenstein is a legend, and I have been inspired by his work for a while now, and will always continue to be inspired by it.

Image derived from: Lichtenstein, Roy. Oh...Alright.... 1964. Photograph. The Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois. Web. 16 Sep 2013. <http://www.artic.edu/aic/collections/exhibitions/Lichtenstein>. 



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All