I really admire this piece for it's abstraction, color usage, as well at the medium. I feel that it is very rare to see works made out of quilted medium (it is not as popular as paintings or drawings). I really like the idea of the image presented in the quilt is abstract, yet it is still able to be made out. The lines and pattern within the circular and organic shapes near the bottom of the piece convey movement, which correlates to the idea of and conveys the concept of water. The shapes of the objects near the upper section of the piece are more geometrical - seeming to have a more structured form, yet the shapes are still organic because they are not completely symmetrical. From looking at the title and interpreting the piece, the shapes near the upper half of the piece convey the concept of reeds very well. It appear as though there is almost an accented analogic color scheme, but the hues are tinted and toned, making the color scheme slightly difficult to pick up on. I really like this piece mainly because there is a form to it and there is actual subject matter being conveyed, but it is done in a very whimsical and abstract way, which I actually think is very clever. I also think the color usage and choices of hues is very significant, and I think the chosen hues work very well together to create an interesting, high contrasted piece.

Image derived from: Johansen, Linda. Reeds & Water. 2013. Quilt. Linda JohansenWeb. 23 Oct 2013. <http://www.lindajohansen.com/quiltart.html>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All