I really admire this piece because it is a older photograph that paints a story. The first thing that stood out to me when looking at this piece is the composition and the angle that the shot was taken. The shot is a traditional landscape shot, yet it captures so much movement and detail. I like how the shot captures movement from both the ocean and the sky. If the piece were to not have the sky, I feel that the photograph would not be as interesting. I also really think that the fact that the image is not as sharp and presents a fuzziness or slight blurred effect is significant to the subject matter/type of landscape that is being presented. The landscape itself presents a darker mood through the hues conveyed in the photograph (darker), so the fuzziness makes sense with this mood. I also think that this piece presents a good quality through the complementing movements. In other words, I think the piece is great, because there are white hues presented in the water in the waves  as well as in the clouds of the sky (the white hues appear in the top and the bottom of the photograph) - therefore they compliment each other. I also like the slight hues that appear throughout the piece (the faded hues of purple, blue, orange/red). Another interesting aspect of the photograph is the distance or idea of infinite space that is presented (it appear as if the ocean continually keeps going and going - stretching across the Earth for miles) - this is obvious in reality, but this is significant to what this piece is conveying. Overall, I think this photograph is an interesting landscape photograph portrait and it captures a lot of emotion through the composition and the mood conveyed.

Image derived from: Ritcher, Gerhard. Seestück II. 1970. Photograph. Gerhard RitcherWeb. 30 Oct 2013. <http://www.gerhard-richter.com/art/editions/detail.php?paintid=12711&p=2&sp=32>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All