I really like this piece because I think it is very ironic or coincidental in a sense. The piece itself reminds me of pixels that come together to create a larger image (like on the computer or when you are working in photoshop on an image and you can see the actual pixels on the computer screen that create the image). This piece is ironic to me, because it was created in 1951 (before technology took over the world and became a huge concept) - yet in the modern age, the piece depicts or can be interpreted as being symbolic of or similar to technology. i appreciate this piece not only for its abstract feel, but for the experimentation with the juxta- positioning of the hues. The piece appears to portray that the individual squares are working together to create a larger image - although this may NOT be what Kelly was going for, this is how I personally interpret the piece. I admire the title though, and although the title implies that the colours were arranged randomly, if you think about it, this cannot be true, because the artist clearly has a color palette that was thought out in some way (there are similar hues that appear throughout the piece, creating a feeling of unity and balance). I admire this piece for the abstraction yet geometrical feel, and I admire the thought that was put into laying the colors out in a way where t

Image derived from: Kelly, Ellsworth. Spectrum Colors Arranged by Chance II. 1951. Painting. The Museum of Modern Art, New York, New York. Web. 28 Oct 2013.<http://www.moma.org/collection/browse_results.php?criteria=O:TA:E:ex4561|A:TA:E:ex4561&page_number=3&template_id=1&sort_order=1>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All