I really admire Haring's work for it's simplicity and how whimsical it is. Many artists are so focused on perfection and having things look perfect and realstic - while Haring's work is the exact opposite. When viewing Haring's work, It is very child-like and relates to children - and I was drawn to this. In this piece in particular, there is a lot of movement being conveyed not only through the dancing dogs, but through the lines that guide the eye around the piece. The dogs appear as if they are laughing, which gives the piece a lighter feel, and conveys happiness. The dogs also remind me of children and childhood because dogs in general are used in a lot of children's books, movies, tv shows, as toys, etc. The piece also presents a triad color scheme (red, green, blue). The color scheme combined with the line technique reminds me of childhood, because when I view this piece, I think of children scribbling in lines and using crayons or crayola markers to create a drawing. The piece itself is very figurative in a two dimensional way. To me, the piece conveys the idea of the simple things in life that can make us happy (the dogs are happy and the style of the piece is very simplistic) - which I think is very true in reality. 

Image derived from: Haring, Keith. Untitled. 1981. Sumi Ink And Acrylic On Paper. Keith HaringWeb. 31 Oct 2013. <http://www.haring.com/!/art-work/138#.UnKtlvnXSEQ/>



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All