I connect to this piece a lot and I think the concept behind it has significant meaning to our culture and our society today. Before I go into the concept and my personal interpretation of this wonderful street art piece, I DO want to comment on the overall technique and color usage. I think it is interesting and very conceptual in regards to how Banksy decided to create harsh contrast between the subject and the sign that the subject is wearing, as well as how he created EMPHASIS on the sign through his choice of color usage. The subject itself and the fact that the subject is holding the suit case also plays a huge role in what this piece is conveying conceptually. When we think of a business man, we think of someone who is very busy and consistently has something to do. They always have places to be and people to see, therefore their social life begins to fall off because they are so busy with other things and achieving other goals related to business and work. The title of this piece and the sign correlate with the subject matter very well, and to me, the piece is commenting on society and how we have become so busy and wrapped up in the things that we do (work, and school mainly), that we do not have any time for social lives. There IS no interest in people, because it is very difficult for there TO be. This piece also reminds me of the 2008 Wall Street Crash and the economic recession in the United States and how many of these high bankers and CEO's of the banks and larger finance companies make billions of dollars, and they do not care about the greater good of OTHER people and other lives, they are more focused on the billions of dollars that they can make and what big buy they are going to spend their money on next. This may not even necessarily correlate to the 2008 Recession, but in general, there are many big CEO's of these corporations that makes millions of dollars - and even celebrities - and they REALLY have NO interest in people because they are keeping their billions of dollars for themselves and are not using it to help anyone or contribute in a positive way to the world. I really enjoy and admire this piece and I think it presents a fascinating concept that we all cou

Image derived from: Banksy, . 0% Interest in People. N.d. Graffiti Art. Flickr, Toronto, Canada. Web. 25 Sep 2013. <http://www.flickr.com/photos/martinreis/4595555984/sizes/z/in/set-72157624081319338/>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All