Typically I am more lenient towards paintings and drawings, but I really like the work of Candida Hofer and her photography. She does a really amazing job at taking the idea of creating traditional landscape portraits, yet she does this is a clever way through the angles she presents in her works. For example, in the piece above, the angle is traditional, yet it captures all of the different elements of the library in one shot (the shot captures both sides of the library, the center hallway of the library, the shelves on both floors, the rounded ceiling, etc). Looking at the photograph in a more analitical way, I really admire the great use of balance here. I feel that the angle combined with the intent of balance, as well as the depth of the actual library is what really makes this photograph a successful piece. The piece is also very sharp, so all of the smaller details are clearly visible, which makes the piece beautiful, and is also what the photographer was aiming to capture. I also feel that the colors really make this piece successful. If the image was edited, the colors are not overbearing, and similar tones are found throughout the piece, which makes the image visibly appeasing.

Höfer, Candida. Beautiful Libraries. N.d. Photograph. Web OdysseumWeb. 8 Nov 2013. <http://webodysseum.com/art/beautiful-librairies-by-candida-hofer/>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All