I really admire this piece for the expressionist-like technique and the hues that is presents. The flowers are very easily recognizable, yet they are very whimsical and appear as if they were quickly painting, conveying a lot of emotion from the artist through the technique. The use of repetition in this piece creates a unity, and the colors are calming in a sense through the hue choices (yellows, blues, greens, reds). I like this piece because it is an appreciation of nature since a lot of people do not take the time to stop and appreciate nature for what it is. I also think that this piece pulls together very well through the repetition of the different hues throughout the entire work, which creates a great balance. I also really admire how the warm and the cool hues work against each other, making the piece a bit more interesting. I admire this piece mainly for the technique and the unique depiction of nature. 

Image derived from: Emil, Nolde. Flower Garden: Pansies. N.d. Painting. All PaintingsWeb. 9 Dec 2013. <http://www.allpaintings.org/v/Expressionism/Emil Nolde/Emil Nolde - Flower Garden Pansies.jpg.html>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All