I really love this piece for a few different reasons. I love the abstract feel of the piece, and I also love the unique choice of medium (coffee and ink - who knew?) One of the biggest aspects of this piece that I notice is the fact that there is a well thought out use of balance. The lines creates from the coffee and the lines created by the ink balance each other out very well (even though the piece presents asymmetrical balance). I also think this piece is very successful and works very well because the lines present great craftsmanship. The lines are very precise and present a great quality to them. I also really admire the use of contrast in this piece, and the black lines really pop out from the lines created by the coffee, and it makes the work almost three-dimensional on a flat surface. The lines have a mechanical feel, as if they are wires or even cords. Another aspect of this piece that I admire is that it is not as contemporary as it could be. In other words, the abstract style itself makes the piece contemporary, yet the color usage is not. I think this is great because so many modern artists try really hard to make their works very contemporary through "explosions" of a wide variation of hues (many colors on one piece), but this piece strays away from that idea. Overall, I think this piece is great, and the main aspects of it that I love are the abstract style combined with the 

Image derived from: Twaddle, Randy. Napa Lines. 2013. coffee, ink on paper. Randy TwaddleWeb. 7 Nov 2013. <http://www.randytwaddle.com/#/alps/>



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All