In high school I studied Chihuly a bit and was exposed to his work, and I have actually seen this piece photographed online before, and I think Chihuly's work is phenomenal and it is very inspiring to many artists.Seeing his work in person is a completely different experience. The image above is actually an image I took from when I visited the Milwaukee Art Museum and was able to look at Chihuly's work. His works (this one in particular) are huge, and when viewing them, his work has such a significant impact on viewers. The sculpture itself it very whimsical and full of life. Many or all of the individual shapes in this sculptural piece spiral or are rounded. When I think of this, I think of life and how it is never ending and how we are constantly evolving as a society. The spirals are never ending, just like the spherical shapes. The colors represent all different aspects of life. Some aspects of our lives are darker, and some are lighter and happier. We are consistently working to better ourselves (individually and as a whole), and I feel that this piece represents just that. Even more significantly, the spiral-like shapes point in all directions, which could also symbolize the idea that life pulls us in many different directions, and we never know what is coming next. We can try and plan our lives months and months ahead, but it can all change at the blink of an eye. This piece does a great job at creating strong connections with its viewers, and I am very admirable of this piece.

Image derived from: Chihuly, Dale. Isola di San Giacomo in Palude Chandelier II. 1941. Scuplture. Milwaukee Art Museum, Milwaukee. Web. 6 Oct 2013. <http://collection.mam.org/details.php?id=11181>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All