This piece is inspiring to me for the conceptual themes, as well as the modernistic style of the skull. When seeing skulls in art, they are typically seen as being very traditional-like, but this is very contemporary and modernistic. I love these piece not only for the color usage, but I love it for the idea that it is conveying the inner-workings of an individual, or how the mind works and how it is wired. I actually created a piece similar to this, so I am very inspired by this and I think this is an amazing piece. The high contrast between the colors and the different line weights within the inside of the skull conveys different sections of the mind and how those different sections are wired. I also am really drawn to the teeth. When I see the teeth, I think of a skeleton and the inner workings of an individual. I also think that the color choices for the background behind the subject (skull) is significant, because it conveys the idea that the subject is in the process of thinking or imagining (the colors are symbolic of an abyss of creativity/the mind working). I feel a lot of energy from this piece through the color usage, and this connects to the concept very well, because when your mind begins working and you become inspired and begin to imagine things, you feel energized an you begin to work to make your dreams, perceptions and ideas become a reality. I love this piece, and this will stay an inspiration for me for awhile. 

Image derived from: Basquiat, Jean-Michel. Untitled (Skull head). 1984. Graffiti Art. Flux BostonWeb. 17 Oct 2013. <http://flux-boston.com/the-radiant-child-jean-michel-basquiat/>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All