I really admire the work of Lucian Freud, especially his unique portraiture. Being very drawn to portraiture already, this piece really stands out to me. I like this piece for the technique. This piece presents a traditional style, but in a twisted way. The piece itself is balanced very well through the angle that was chosen.The portrait exposes the subject in a traditonal-like way, capturing all of the features of the subject from a frontal-type view. This piece starts to become non-traditional through the palette/hue choices, and the structure of the facial features. For example, the eyes look a bit cartoon-like and slightly distorted. The eyes themselves appear to be very large (wide-eyed, rounded - making them very cartoon-esque). The face itself is very rounded, which could be realistic, but in real life this is not usually the case. The hues chosen for this piece are also a bit off, and the palette is not traditional. The whites appear to be slightly toned with a blue, and the darker hues on the left side of the face are toned down, and are not as vibrant in regards to skin tone. I admire this piece for the idea that it captures the subject in a realistic way. All of the details of the face are included, the tones and lighting is correct, the hair is detailed down to the wire, etc. I admire the lack of color in this piece, and how the facial expression is not happy - creating a specfic mood. The subject appears to be in thought or pondering on something, and the chosen color palette does a good job at capturing this. I love how this piece emphasizes and focuses on emotion, which is very inspiring to me. 

Image derived from: Freud, Lucian. Portrait of Francis Bacon by Lucian Freud. 1952. Painting. Ananas à MiamiWeb. 20 Nov 2013. <http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-lbgZuoG83PI/TdLTCaax4eI/AAAAAAABbCs/yOa1AO4JAuU/s640/Lucian Freud - Francis Bacon 1952.jpg>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All