Picture
     I have always really admired Mucha for his work, especially his colour lithographs and posters that he created for advertisement. This piece in particular draws me in. I love his soft use of colors, yet the feel of the subject is still realistic. I also really admire the decorative designing with the flowers and the use of line (the branches) that he uses. The use of line in this piece really plays a crucial role. For example, the lines created in the ribbon on the subject's dress, along with the branch that starts from the bottom of the piece and almost wraps around the subject, when viewing the piece, that is the first thing I see, and my eye follows those subjects up to the face, where I am then drawn to the text and the beautiful decorative flowerings at the top of the poster. The piece itself APPEARS to be simplistic (through lack of shading), appears to be flat in a sense, yet it is intricate through the decorative details and the detailing of the subject. The contrast of the wording from the decorative designing it also very significant to the poster. The fact that the words are presented in white banners allows them to contrast from the colors that are behind them, which makes the words stand out, which is the point of the poster is to get people's attention and draw them into the advertisement (that's what Mucha created these posters for...he collaborated with other individuals to create things such as posters, postcards, catalouges, and other promotional material for companies/brands.

Image derived from:Mucha, Alphonse. Poster for 'Moët & Chandon: Champagne White Star'. 1899. Colour Lithograph. Alphonse MuchaWeb. 20 Sep 2013. <http://www.muchafoundation.org/gallery/browse-works/object/53>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All