I really appreciate and admire this piece mainly for its use of color and shape. I love the abstract feel that this piece presents, and I think  that the title of the piece is interesting with the subject matter that the piece presents. In a way, I feel that the title is very contradicting in a sense. The internet defines the term Stowaway is an individual who secretly boards public transportation without paying and without being detected/noticed. The speed of light also travels so fast, that we as humans do not physically see it. I admire this piece because It is an interpretation of the speed of light and what it would or potentially could look like it if it was actually visible to the human eye. When I think of light, I think of colors and how different colored objects and things model light and reflect it. In this piece, since the speed of light moves so fast, the objects becomes blurred lines and appear to be very abstract, organic-like figurative forms of color. I feel that this piece makes a lot of sense in terms of the approach to the subject matter combined with the chosen title, and I think it is a great depiction., This piece goes "outside of the box" and depicts subject matter and questions our existence and the way that things work a bit, which I think is an interesting concept. This piece is great because it is not simply a portrait or a depiction of a type of subject matter that we are exposed to every day and th

Image derived from: Rosenquist, James. Stowaway Peers Out at the Speed of Light. 2000. Painting. Guggenheim, New York, New York. Web. 18 Nov 2013. <http://pastexhibitions.guggenheim.org/rosenquist/highlights8.html>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All