I think this series is great and I draw a lot of admiration from it through the idea of color experimentation, as well as the idea of the series of roses combined with the abstract technique. There is an analogic color scheme going on in this piece, which means that the artist carefully picked out the colors. I think the color scheme works very well, and in a way the hues complement each other. I also like the concept of the paint dripping from the roses - almost as if the color is fading or coming off of the rose itself. I like this piece, because it is more like a sketch and a process piece, rather than a full completed work. It shows how the artist planned out the sketch (the first flower) and planned how they were going to go about created the flowers, and then the artist dove in and experimented with the colors and technique. This idea of experimentation is huge because it is applicable to all art and all artists. I also think it is interesting that the artist chose to paint the wood a lighter pink hue ( that is what the flowers are painted on). I think the pink hue is significant because it creates a high contrast with the flowers, yet it works well with the red and purple hues. I mainly like this piece because it shows the mental process of the artist and the experimentation of that artist. 

Image derived from: Twombly, Cy. Untitled (Roses) Gaetac. 2008. Painting. Cy TwomblyWeb. 5 Nov 2013. <http://www.cytwombly.info/twombly_gallery.htm>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All