After viewing the work of Swoon, I have found an entirely new inspiration. His work amazes me in so many different ways its hard to even pin point a place to start. I really admire the contemporary style of this piece combined with the concept of figurative portraiture. The lines that make up the shading of the subject (the woman) convey a lot of emotion to me, as well as the contemporary style. I am really drawn into the print-style designs that make up the bottom half of the woman. They are block-like and solid, which not only adds on to the idea of contemporary style. I also like, the block-like designs, because they convey emotion in a different and interesting way. Although there is an obvious expression on the face of the subject that conveys the mood, It seems as though the embellished designs convey the idea of holding onto your emotions or past (dark) and carrying them with you wherever you go - and throughout your life in general. The background that appear behind the subject is very faded and the hues are almost transparent - which reminds me of a map and how the colors are faded. The ideas of the lines and arrows indicates direction, which also reminds me of the idea of a map. The piece conveys the idea of individuals holding their emotions with them and past experiences, carrying with them throughout life. 

Image derived from: Swoon. Zahra. 2010. Print. Juxtapoz Magazine. Web. 1 Nov 2013. <http://www.juxtapoz.com/street-art/swoon-releases-31-unique-variants-of-qzahraq>.



Leave a Reply.

    About the Inspirationist

    Here is where I draw my inspiration from other artists and influences, as well as post about my own artistic and cultural experiences. All work that is not owned by myself is cited to the best of my ability and all credentials are given to the artists and their works, respectfully. Thanks for reading!

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All